DOJ – Sexual Assault Services Culturally Specific Program Solicitation (2021)

Applications due: by March 1, 2021 at 11:59 p.m. ET

This program is authorized by 34 U.S.C. § 12511(c). The Sexual Assault Services Culturally Specific Program (SAS Culturally Specific Program) (CFDA# 16.023) supports nonprofit organizations that focus primarily on culturally specific communities and have experience in the area of sexual assault or who partner with an organization having such expertise. The goal of the SAS Culturally Specific Program is to establish, maintain, and expand sustainable, culturally appropriate services that address the unique needs and challenges of victims of
sexual assault from culturally specific communities.

Helpful resources

  • NLADA recently presented at the MIE Fundraising Conference on how civil legal aid serves victims of crime. Access the PowerPoint here.
  • The Justice in Government Project at American University has curated research briefs on how civil legal aid helps survivors of domestic violence and Native Americans. You can access the briefs here.
  • Want help making your case? The Justice Index scores and ranks states on their adoption of best practices for ensuring access to justice. Find how well your state is doing here.

 Grant information

Funding Title: OVW Fiscal Year 2021 Sexual Assault Services Culturally
Specific Program Solicitation

Agency Name: DOJ – Office on Violence Against Women

Funding Opportunity Number: O-OVW-2021-36005

Funding Instrument Type: Grant

Express Language for Legal Aid: No, there isn’t express language for legal aid.

Target Population: Victims of Crime

Expected Number of Awards: 12

Cost Sharing or Matching Requirement:  No

Estimated Total Program Funding: $3,750,000

Award Ceiling: $300,000

Award Floor: $280,000

Current Closing Date for Applications: by March 1, 2021 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

Eligible Applicants:

Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal
governments), Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education, Other

Eligible applicants are limited to: private nonprofit organizations for which the primary purpose of the organization as a whole is to provide culturally specific services to American Indians (including Alaska Natives, Eskimos, and Aleuts), Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians and other Pacific Islanders, Blacks, or Hispanics in the United States or U.S. territories.

For more information

Link to Full Announcement: Link to listing and full solicitation

Categories: Department of Justice, Native American Tribes or Tribal Organizations, Non-profit Organizations, Subgrant Possibilities, Victims of Crime

%d bloggers like this: